Private Security -VI

Rob’s basic living quarters were attached to the back of the pole barn where a path into the elevated forest began sloping upwards just outside the rear door. When Janis finally awoke, Rob suggested: “Let’s go for a walk in the woods. We can climb to the top of the hill, catch the sunset. There’s nothing like it.”

She threw off the sheet, exposing her naked body, and said: “I don’t have anything to wear.”

“Let’s go savage, back to the basics, who needs cloths?”

“I do,” she moaned: “I want my things.”

“I’ll take you there anytime you’re ready,” Rob said, stressing sincerity in his tone.

“I can’t. I’m afraid. I don’t want him to kill you.”

“We can get you some new things,” Rob said, relaxing his tone: “Meanwhile, put on your army boots and let’s go climb the mountain. This here combat uniform is the perfect outfit for rough activities.”

“Oh, you want to get rough, huh?” she said, jumping out of bed and crouching like a boxer with her fists in the air.

As they embraced, Janis seemed more composed and in control of herself, Rob thought. In the pickup truck the night before, she seemed distraught and on edge while frequently smoking cigarettes. After their early morning sexual marathon, she had slept for most of the day, which could account for the change in her behavior.

He wanted to know more about her but he avoided questions that would put pressure on her. She would unfold in her own natural rhythm, he felt, and he could live with that.

The forest engulfed them in its timeless mysteries like an ancient cathedral. They stopped halfway to the top to catch their breath at a sunny clearing.

“I can understand why you called this an enchanted forest,” Janis said: “There’s a remarkable presence here. I could sense it right away as we started up the path. I feel like a Druid. I’m in love with this place. You own it?”

“I’m buying it. I’ve got the payments covered for awhile but I’m looking for a way to pay it off quickly and retire. Then there’s the taxes. The local farmer is selling it to me because he doesn’t want to keep paying taxes on land he can’t farm. But he doesn’t want it cut down, either. I promised him I’d take good care of it. And I will.”

“I feel good here,” Janis said: “Like I belong. I am the forest. We are one. In society, we all have our separate identity. It’s different here. Does that make sense to you?”

“You are a Druid, aren’t you? In spirit, anyway. That’s why I want this place so badly. My spirit comes alive here.”

“This is like another world, Rob. It’s like traveling in time, leaving all my worries behind. Here with you, Cal seems like a little man, in a far away place. And I’ve been afraid of him for so long. If I’m dreaming, I want this dream to last forever.”

Rob caught himself before reflexively saying, nothing last forever. He wanted to believe it could. Perhaps in a spiritual way, who knows?

Explore posts in the same categories: Novel

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

