Private Security – IV

Rob noticed her outside the health food store one sunny morning. She had long brown hair and she wore a pale rose dress matching the color of her skin. The dress fabric, which barely covered her torso, clung to her body loosely, accentuating her curves as she moved. She bent to load groceries in her car and he could see her panties. He felt like a fool when she caught him looking. Her big brown eyes, her pouting facial expression, and her body language all seemed to say, if you think you’ve got something special to offer, mister, bring it on. Rob backed away when her musclebound companion came from the store with more groceries.

He saw her a few day later as he exited a drive through restaurant in his pickup truck. The street lights had just come on and he noticed her standing in the rain, wearing a black hooded cape, waiting for a bus. When he pulled alongside the curb, she looked at him through the open passenger’s window and, without a sign of recognition, said: “Take my advice and keep moving.”

Her facial cuts and bruises were from a recent beating, Rob concluded. The threat of danger heightened his interest. He had a complete survival kit in the back of his pickup truck, including a small arsenal of military weapons. Plus, he had a loaded handgun strapped under his seat where he could reach it.

He held her eyes with a steady gaze as he unlocked the door.

She hesitated, looked around, and then climbed inside.

Rob locked the door, shifted into drive, and accelerated from the curb. Then, while maneuvered his vehicle into traffic, he said: “Your place or mine?”

“You may not live to regret this,” she said, removing the hooded cape.

Her long hair had been cut short with different lengths going in every direction. Yet, even with the wild hair, the bruised face, and the poor lighting inside his pickup truck as they traveled through the city at night, he felt strongly attracted to her exotic beauty.

Holding a cigarette to her mouth, she said: “You don’t mind if I light this, do you?”

“For you, I’ll make an exception,” Rob replied, turning his head for a quick look into her eyes. Then, returning his attention to the road, he added: “I used to smoke. I quit when I joined the army. Almost five years ago.”

“You’re army?” she said, lighting her cigarette before adding: “You’re going to need it. Where have you served?”

“That’s classified. Name, rank, and serial number. Rob’s the name.”

“Okay, first names, I’m Janis. Here’s another first name for you to remember, Cal. He’s looking for me. And when he finds me, he’ll kill me and whoever is with me. Do you understand that? He’s a killer. He’ll stalk us and he’ll come out of nowhere when we least expect him.”

“He’s gotta find us first, Janis.”

“He will find us, he always gets what he wants.”

“Maybe I should go after him. That’s how we do it in the army. Attack, don’t wait for things to happen.”

She gave him a long sidewise stare before going back to her cigarette.

“Tell me about Cal,” he said, keeping his eyes on the road as he merged into expressway traffic heading out of the city.

“I don’t wanna talk about him right now,” Janis said, knocking the flame from her cigarette into the dashboard ashtray, saving the smokable butt inside the cellophane wrap of her cigarette pack.

Rob wanted to press the issue but he understood her need to be alone within herself. They drove through the dark countryside for almost an hour before she said: “Where the hell are we?”

“I have some isolated property out here,” he replied: “It’s mostly forest with steep elevation, surrounded by wetlands from flowing wells. Most of the flat farmland in the area is used to grow legumes, grasses, and grains for animal feed. It’s mostly dairy farms in the adjacent counties.”

“I didn’t ask you for a geography lesson,” she said as she pulled a new cigarette from her pack. After lighting it, she inhaled, held her breath, and, with smoke coming from her mouth, said: “I still don’t know where I’m at.”

“That’s good,” Rob said: “Then you can’t be sending mental messages back to Cal, informing him of your whereabouts.”

“Mental messages? You’re more paranoid than I am. I’m worried about tracking devices in my cloths, Cal gave them to me.”

“Take them off and throw them away. There’s a clean army blanket behind the seat. You can wrap yourself in that. Have you had any operations lately where something could have been implanted? Have you noticed any marks on your body that could be the result of an implant? Maybe I should look.”

“Look at my naked body? In the truck, using a flashlight? I don’t think so. I’m very sensitive, I would know if a tracking device had been placed inside me.”

“There’s a public campsite along the river up ahead. I’ll pull in there. I’ve got some clothes for you in the back.”

Rob carefully steered his truck from the asphalt blacktop onto a narrow dirt road leading down to the river. The parking lot had four vehicles close to the campsites. He stopped in a space just inside its entrance. Before getting out, he reached behind the seat for his shoulder holster and, after strapping it on, he reached under the seat for his handgun.

Janis laughed, and said: “You are paranoid.”

“It’s no use to me under the seat when I’m not in the truck.”

“You don’t trust me, do you? That’s why you’re taking the gun with you. You don’t want to leave it here with me.”

“It’s nothing personal, Janis. I don’t feel comfortable without my weapon. And I never leave it behind, not with anyone.”

Rob’s survival kit included an assortment of woman’s clothing per the advisement of a female friend. He found a combat uniform with the latest camouflage pattern and a matching boonie hat with a wide brim which snaps in place like an Australian bush hat. Then he located the appropriate underwear, socks, and boots.

“Oh, I hate that stuff,” she said when he returned to the cab.

He waited outside for her to change. Then, while she found a secure place to urinate, he buried her previous clothing in the woods, wrapped in aluminum foil.

Explore posts in the same categories: Novel

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Private Security – IV”

  1. roguesophia Says:

    I feel like I missed something…. It seems like he just instinctively accepts what she has to say about the whole thing….

    ~LeMorgon


    • Hi roguesophia,

      Yes, he appears to be accepting what she has to say about Cal’s intentions to kill her. He’s captivated by her exotic beauty and he wants to gain her favor by helping. Their relationship will develop further in future episodes, coming soon. Thanks for reading, I appreciate your feedback on the story.

      JMC


Leave a Reply

